2010 7th Annual TheatreASAP

Thank you to everyone who made another successful TheatreASAP possible. To name a few: Northwest Vista College, S.T.A.G.E. in Bulverde, and all the fantastic Actors, Playwrights and Directors!


The San Antonio Theatre Coalition (SATCO) invites audiences to join San Antonio's theatre community for its seventh annual theatre-making event, TheatreASAP.


The excitement begins on Friday, September 10 at S.T.A.G.E. in Bulverde, when six local playwrights will draw props, cast lists, and San Antonio-related lines of dialogue. Once they have chosen their elements, they have only twelve hours to incorporate them into a one-act play. The completed scripts will be given to teams of actors and directors on Saturday, September 11. From there, the teams must memorize, rehearse, and stage their plays within twelve hours; the finished products will premiere at 8pm Saturday night at the Palmetto Center for the Arts, Northwest Vista College's state-of-the-art facility for its drama, dance, and music programs. With the Center's 400-seat proscenium theater, fully functional scene and costume shops, and innovatively designed dressing and green rooms, "our actors and directors will have a fantastic space to work in," says Mellissa Marlowe, TheatreASAP 2010 producer.


Since it began in 2004, TheatreASAP has met with an enthusiastic response from audiences and critics, with Deborah Martin of the San Antonio Express-News declaring the 2009 showcase "a richly satisfying evening."


"Over the last few years, I've really enjoyed seeing what the playwrights, directors, and actors have been able to accomplish within that short timeframe," says Lee Hurtado, a noted blogger (The Hurtado Street Theater) and award-winning screenwriter (Dating Danielle) making his first appearance as a playwright for TheatreASAP. "It pushes you to be a more creative artist, so I'm excited to be making my first trip behind the curtain." W. Chris Champlin, President of SATCO, adds, "The one thing you can count on in this event is the unexpected. You never know what these teams will come up with, so I hope you'll come to the show and find out!"


BACKGROUND: The San Antonio Theatre Coalition (SATCO) is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt, non-profit service organization founded in 1995 to facilitate communication and cooperation among the many theatre organizations in and around San Antonio, Texas. Whether a theatre is college/university, community based, professional or a combination, each contributes to the vitality of theatre in the area. SATCO exists to provide a unified entity, which helps all theatres to meet the challenges of the future as San Antonio and its arts continue to grow. SATCO provides many benefits to members as well as the entire theatre community, including an informational website, the Playbill (a listing of current and upcoming productions), E-Auditions, cast parties and workshops, to name a few.


Tickets (available at the door)

Regular Admission: $5

SATCO Members and Military (with ID): Free

Be advised that adult content is a possibility. We don't know because the scripts won't be written until Friday night!


to Campus ~ to Theatre

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Please call 210.779.6782


ACTORS (in no particular order)

Pamela Dean Kenny Gerardo Vallejo
Karla Jimenez Ariel Rosen
Chris Rothbauer Avery Reed Moore
Dru Barcus Devin Collins
Steve Wire Becky King
Martha Prentiss Theresa Bishop
Monica Perez Anthony Cortino
Catherine Babbitt Mark Hicks
Lisa Hart Keisha McFarrin
Renee Garvens Paul Berman
Alan Utley Marc Daratt
Katie Green Lynn Utley
Judy Utley Louisette Zurita




Mellissa Marlowe (r), TheatreASAP 2010 producer, is joined by playwrights and directors for this year's showcase, Including (clockwise from bottom right) Sheila Rinear, Kathleen Lovejoy, Richard Rosen, Lee Hurtado, Laurie Dietrich, David Morgan, Greg Hinojosa, and Ben Tremillo. (Not pictured: Lou Garza, Irene Miller, Gypsy Pantoja, and James Venhaus) (photo: W. Chris Champlin)


Theatre ASAP     Members Directory   Theatre ASAP  


Back to Top